LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

input data from two different ports

Hello!

I am fairly new to LabVIEW so forgive me if this is a rather basic question. I am trying to write a VI that will obtain input from two different ports on the usb. I have attached what I currently have below.

I have six independant scenarios controlled by 12 switches. The first set of six switches start the timing and the second set of six stop the timing. My current VI only accounts for the second set of switches. I am not sure how to input data from the first set of switches??

I also had a question about the timestamp options. I just need the time difference between starting the timer by hitting the first switch and stoping the timer by hitting the second switch. What timer option should I use to obtain this result?

Maybe it would be easier to just see an example of one switch from port 1 starting the timer and one switch from port 2 stoping the timer and I could then replicate that for all six switched since they are all independant...

Thanks so much for you help! I again apologize for my simple questions!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,101 Views)

Here is a better version of your VI where the boolean logic was simplified, and redundant code was eliminated.

I'm not clear on what you want with your first set of switches vs. the second set.  It is probably a matter of using similar logic as here to detect the time of the first set of switches, storing them in a shift register, and subtracting those values from the times you are getting for your second set of switches.

Message Edited by Ravens Fan on 06-04-2010 03:51 PM
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,088 Views)

Sorry to start a new thread, I just didn't want to keep bothering the same person with my very simple questions.

Thanks for you help! I have successfully written a VI that obtains all the data I want. I now have questions about writing to a spreadsheet.