LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

identify specific bit in bytes of data

Hi All,

Not sure the subject really explains what i'm trying to achieve but i'll try to explain. I'm trying to carry out data diagnostics from incoming serial data. i have managed to clean the message up by filtering any unwanted bytes. Within these bytes each bit is a representation of something i will be monitoring (when finished). So would like to ahieve is taking a signal bit from a specific byte and displaying what this represents with maybe an LED coming on when the bit is high/binary '1'.

I have attached what i have done so far. I have got access to the permenat incoming stream so have used string to input the data. Any help would be appreciated, i have some experience with labview but would still say i'm a novice.

Many Thanks

Rob

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,630 Views)

apologies there is a small bit of code on the right which i was using for diagostics to work out the coding so ignore this. Also the code is currently not laid out very well so sorry again.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,625 Views)

Tip:  There is no need to do an array size and wire it into the For Loop's N terminal when you are using auto-indexing on the tunnel for that array wire.

I don't understand what any of the code you have presented is supposed to be doing.

But if you want to know the value of a bit for a particular byte, the way do do that is with "masking".  Once you've converted the bytes to U8, use the AND function with a number to break out a particular bit.  So if you want to know the highest order bit, AND the byte with 128.  The result will give you either  0000 0000  or 1000 0000.  If the result is >0, then the bit was True.  If the result =0 then the bit was false.  If you want to find the 2nd to lowest bit, than AND it with 2.