LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

i wanted to make a dashboard screen in labview to display serial data from arduino or any serial devices..plz help

I'm a beginner for LabVIEW and Arduino. I wanted to display many parameters from Arduino or any device data through serial communication on to LabVIEW custom dashboard. plz someone help reg. the same.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,230 Views)

In general, this is probably quite difficult.

If you have a more specific set of requirements, it shouldn't be too hard.

Likely what you want is somewhere in the middle...

What "many parameters" do you want to display? How should they be displayed?

What other "device data" (and do you mean other devices, or other data from your Arduino?) do you want to display? And how should that be displayed?

etc...

Serial communication in LabVIEW is usually handled with the VISA nodes, for which several examples are available both online and built-in to LabVIEW (use "Help > Find Examples..."). Avoid using anything that contains "Bytes at Port" when communicating with an Arduino that you're programming - you can always use a "termination character" such as Line Feed (LF, /n, 0x10) instead.

GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,211 Views)

Sounds like you want to be able to monitor the serial traffic between an Arduino and some other program. 

Easier said than done...

What you are describing is a serial "bus sniffer", these require some additional hardware or programming that is far beyond what a self described "beginner for LabVIEW" could do.

The main problem is dealing with Windows OS and the serial port. Once one program (say the Arduino IDE) has the serial port open then another program (like your LabVIEW serial sniffer) can not gain access to the serial port or vice versa because Windows has the resource locked so only one program can access it at a time 

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos