LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to program to control HR2000+ (ocean optics)

I am a freshman in LabView. Does anyone who use LabView to control HR2000+ high-resolution spectrometer? Would be appreciated if you could share something with me. Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,392 Views)

Hi wangsir,

Here is a link to the instrument drivers that Ocean Optics has. I'm not sure which one will work for your instrument, but it looks like most of the resources here are password protected, and you'll have to work with Ocean Optics to get access to them.

I found the manual for this device here. See page 11 for the RS-232 command summary. It looks like you will have to make your own cable to communicate with this instrument. Use pins 2 and 3, in your cable to attach to Rx and Tx on the serial port (Tx to Rx and Rx to Tx) so that you can transmit and receive information via RS-232. See page 5 for the electrical pinout.

From the user manual: "The list of the commands is shown in the following table along with the microcode version number the commands were introduced with. All commands consist of an ASCII character passed over the serial port, followed by some data. The length of the data depends on the command. The format for the data is either ASCII or binary (default). The ASCII mode is set with the "a" command and the binary mode with the "b" command. "

Also note: "In the ASCII data value mode, the HR2000 “echoes” the command back out the RS-232 port. In binary mode all data, except where noted, passes as 16-bit unsigned integers (WORDs) with the MSB followed by the LSB. By issuing the “v command” (Version number query), the data mode can be determined by viewing the response (ASCII or binary)."