From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to open 40 text files and save to a single spreadsheet

I have folders each with 40 text files, 20 ending in "charac.txt" and 20 ending in "verify.txt". I can use the LIST function to read the contents of the folder and separate the file names into two 1D arrays of strings, but then I can't figure out how to open each file in turn and save the contents into a single spreadsheet. I have a vi that has me open each file manually and append it to the same spreadsheet, but I want to automate the opening and saving of the files. I have seen a similair example done with arrays and numbers, but I am new to Labview and having an awful time with the whole ARRAY concept, and need to save the numbers as strings.

Any help would be appreciated!

Tay
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,634 Views)
Since you've been able to get the list of files into a couple of string arrays, that is a good start.

Feed those arrays into a for loop and make sure auto-indexing of those arrays is turned on at the left edge of the loop structure.

Use functions such as string to path and build path to turn that data into a file path.  That can be fed into the read file VI's.  The data can be fed into a write file VI which has a path you defined for the new file.  (Don't forget to append the data rather than overwrite.)  Which file VI's are correct for you you will have to figure out.  It could be read/write text files.  Or read/write spreadsheet files.

Message Edited by Ravens Fan on 05-17-2007 11:31 PM

Message 2 of 7
(2,627 Views)