From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how do I get an actual hex number from an array. The array to hex converter produces two characters rather than a hex number.

What is the array data type? If integer, all you have to do is right click the control or indicator and choose Hexidecimal from the Format & Precision menu.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(4,151 Views)
Hello Dennis and Pierre,

I am VERY new to Labview and this is my first project.

More info: I have 8 on/off switches feeding a boolean array. The output of the array goes into a boolean array to number convertor. Then it goes through a Number to Hex string convertor. I have a a Hex String indicator connected to the output to see what is happening. Now I thought that this would produce a Hex number but it doesn't! It produces a Hex String NOT a Hex number.

For instance: If I set the switches to '11111111' the Hex display shows '4646'! If I set the display type to 'Normal Display' it shows 'FF'. If it was a proper Hex number it would show 'FF' when the display was set for 'Hexadecimal Display'.

Hex 46 is Decimal 70 which is the ASCII code for F.

How do I
get '11111111' to give me 'FF' on an Hex display?

Steve.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(4,151 Views)
The purpose of the "Hexadecimal Display" of the string indicator is to display the hex representation of the characters in the string for debug purposes. It sounds to me that you get exactly what you want using "Normal Display" so why not use that?

If you want a Hex numeric then skip the "Number to Hex string converter" and display the number from the "Boolean array to Number Converter" as Hex by selecting Hexadecimal format from format and precision.

Brian
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 15