LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fourier transform of a voltage output in real time from a fiber optic sensor

Hi,
I am totally new to LabView and had some queries regarding my project (I am a research student)
I am making a fiber optic pressure sensor and need to perform the fourier transform of the output of the sensor in real time. The output of the sensor is given to a photodetector and the output is available as a voltage. By carrying out the fourier transform of this voltage signal I hope to get the frequency makeup of the signal. This frequency is further needed for calculating the wavelength and the wavelength is further required in modelling the progress of the wave. This is for tsunami detection.
Can somebody please help me?
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,349 Views)
A few questions to help get us started. What frequency range are you planning for? What means were you planning to get the output of your photodetector into your computer? What is your definition of "real time"? A FFT requires a number of samples (2^n) to perform its calculations. Depending on the answer to the first question above determines how long between the start of data capture and the output from the FFT. On a reasonably fast machine (anything realistically capable of running the "modern" versions of LabVIEW i.e.6.x and above) the FFT calculation is pretty fast. If you are looking at marine wave data I would presume fairly low frequency signals in the sub Hz to 100's of Hz (vs KHz, MHz, GHz) in which case the longest time element will be gathering the 256+ data samples to perform the FFT on. Let us know more details so that we can help. As to its "doability" this is the type of project that LabVIEW excels at.

P.M.

Message Edited by LV_Pro on 07-07-2005 08:26 AM

Putnam
Certified LabVIEW Developer

Senior Test Engineer North Shore Technology, Inc.
Currently using LV 2012-LabVIEW 2018, RT8.5

LabVIEW Champion

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,344 Views)