Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

formula node with global variable

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am tring to use formula node with global variables as an input and output,

but this is where I see the SW hangs forever.

By the way I am a novice to the labview.

Can some give me hint why this is happening?

Thank you in advance,

Do

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,911 Views)

Oh my... Have a little text-based programming in your background, do we? Smiley Wink

Definitely not the way to code LabVIEW. What are all those global variables for?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,910 Views)

As you may have guessed from the formula node program, some of the variables are

the reference to arrays and I was trying to imitate the header file in C, so that

I can reference these informations from other subVI.

By the way this is not a optimum way to implement in the Labview.

Any idea why it is hanging?

Using the "highlight execution" option I can trace the input as they come in, but I do

not see any activities on output side?

What is going on?

Thanks,

Do

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,905 Views)

WTF? I think you have try to learn LabVIEW 😄

You can beginn with a hello-world-tutorial...

Sorry for my expressive behaviour.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(3,897 Views)
Well, you don't have any while loops, so it's not an infinite loop situation. How big are your arrays, and how many iterations are being performed by each loop? My guess is that it's not hanging, but simply taking a really long time. This is not unexpected since this kind of operation in a formula node will be slower than doing it in native LabVIEW code. My suggestion is to rewrite it using LabVIEW code.
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(3,890 Views)

Thank you for your reply.

Here is a For loop structure in my formula node.

By the way I did not think the formula node had this much of slowness.

Thanks for your information.

So if I were to use the Labview structure, should I directly translate