LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

first timelabview user wants to control lab instruements throught gpib??

hey,

I am an undergraduate student in my junior year. I am working in a research group at columbia universtiy for about 4 months.What theve asked me to do is that they have alot of lab instruments that they use..They want me to control them using gpib so that they can use them from labview and automate the testing process they use to test a silicon plasma waveguide they make..i have never used labview before and frankly quite lost..i need help and fast..if someone could point where i should start learning labview for the requirements i have it would be nice.. i downloaded the drivers for the machine but couldnt get them to run they are 3rd party drivers...how would i  install them as well...help is greatly appreciated. i am uploading the drivers for one of the machines i working on..

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,083 Views)

Here's a good starting point for LV:  http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/12302

Once you come to terms with the basics, try to talk to your simplest GPIB device and get it to answer a simple IDN (Returns instruments name) command.  Start with the shipping examples (Help > Find Examples...  Hardware IO > GPIB.

The rest depends on how complicated the testing process is that you wish to automate.

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019 - Unfortunately now moving back to C#, .NET, Python due to forced change to subscription model by NI. 8^{
Message 2 of 4
(2,072 Views)