LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ebus protocol (serial data parser)

Hi there!

I'm very new to LabView and as my first challenge I would like to try making a remote interface for an ebus device.

The device is sending serial data so I'm planning to use VISA serial driver.

I would need some help to start with my project.

The device is sending data but without CRLF. The data is sent continuously and the separator between the "useful data blocks" is a so called "Synchronization Symbol" (can be one or more in sequence) an it's bit sequence is 101010...(AAh) and according to the documentation luckily this value or sequence of this value is never included into the data blocks.

As the first step I would like to achieve is to have a terminal like window where I can see the parsed data blocks (like in a serial terminal) in HEX and to have a way to send out such a data block.

As the second step I would like to know how to parse those data blocks further (ex.: 10 26 B5 04 01 00 D9 00 0A 00 23 00 00 00 00 01 00 80 F8 A9 01 00) to extract data like time, temp, ID's etc..whatever is coded into the blocks and display it.

(The data blocks can be of different lenght.)

As an example the data block above can be translated as:

M1=Master ID, M2=Slave ID, M3=command, M4=Data block ID, M5=Lenght of data followed (1byte), M6=a block ID, S1=ACK, S2=Lenght of data followed(10bytes), S3=Status, S4=ss(BCD), S5=min, S6=hh, S7=ss, S8=mm, S9=ww, S10=yy, S11=Outside temp L byte, S12=Outside temperature H byte, S13=CRC, M8=ACK 1st byte of the block = Master's ID, second byte= Slave' ID

Any help is welcome and many thanks in advance!

Szabi 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,431 Views)

Hello Szabi,

For a quick reference about serial communication please see our Serial Quick Reference Guide:

In the  middle of the page you will find the basic programming model for serial port communication in LabVIEW.

http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/371253c.pdf