From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dll

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm aware there are plenty of threads around this topic, but there are a lot of variations and I've never used LabVIEW before, and I seem to be struggling at a very basic level, so I'm hoping someone can help me out with the very simple specific test case below to put me on the right track.

actually i am trying to allocate some memory   in my dll code (using malloc function) ,and pass that memory location address from dll to labview.

in dll i placed some data in that location but in labview when i was trying to dereference the memory location i am not able to get the data what i placed.

for getting address i send a unsigned 64 bit integer from labview to dll function as a pointer to value  .

and in  c dll i just used pointer as argument to recieve this integer address and placed the memory location address in that interger address using pointer .  

Thank you in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,665 Views)
OK, what kind of data are we talking about here? There are many examples that demonstrate passing data in and out of DLLs. What makes your problem unique?

Next why a DLL? You appear to be creating this widget yourself. Are you wanting to call the code from a non-LabVIEW environment?

You do know that you can create DLLs in LabVIEW right?

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,623 Views)

thank yo for your reply mike,

sry mike i don't know how to create DLL using labview, but here i am trying to get data from a flat panel he gave a  C dll.