LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dll buffer string

I have been programming with LabView for about 15 years and have used tons of DLLs from LabView so this isn't my first time.  I purchased a slick USB based isolated 6 channel voltmeter from EtherTek Circuits.  They provide a DLL that they wrote in assy.  I can access the DLL and get it to answer back using their DLL test function, but when I try to get any data back from any other functions such as even getting a list of the devices, it has a problem.  Either it returns an empty variable or with some jibberish that doesn't follow any rhyme or reason.  They have an app that uses the DLL and it talks to the the hardware just fine. 

The developer wrote the DLL so that you passed the DLL a buffer and it then filled the buffer.  Here is a sample of the DLL code for a simple function.

GetManufacturerString proc pid:DWORD, buffer:DWORD

LOCAL unicodebuf [512]
 LOCAL asciibuf [512]

invoke OpenHID,pid
 invoke HidD_GetManufacturerString, hHIDDevice, ADDR unicodebuf,512
 invoke CloseHID
 invoke UniToAscii,ADDR unicodebuf,ADDR asciibuf
 invoke szCopy,ADDR asciibuf,buffer
 mov     eax,TRUE
 ret

GetManufacturerString endp

Can someone enlighten me on how to format the DLL call?  I have tried just about every combination of datatype definition in the configure dialog.

The complete assy for the DLL is attached

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,193 Views)

When I did the copy and paste it converted the :DWORD to a smiley, sorry.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,191 Views)

Well the forum keeps converting a   colon DWORD to a smiley. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,190 Views)

Its been a long day.  I forgot to mention that this is LV2010.

😄

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(3,188 Views)

Do they provide the source code for their working sample app?  That would be helpful, especially if it's in C.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 9
(3,185 Views)