LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

creating a 2d array from 1d data

i have a created  a 1 d array with 2 elments, the VI completes 21 cycles and on each iteration the vales in the 2 elemnts change. what i would like to do is to create an array that after the 21 itertaions will have 21 rows of data in 2 columns.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,486 Views)

Simply autoindex the 1D array at the right loop boundary.

(Overall, it seems like your code cound be reduce to 10% of the currrent size :D).

Message 2 of 6
(2,485 Views)

Thanks for the fix, it works a treat and also thanks for the adivce. you can probably tell from my code that im quite new to labview, just in the past few hours i have found some different VIs that could cut down atleast half the code. But as i am tryng to get the code completed asap i thnk ill leave it and then ammed it latter.

not sure if i should be creating a new post for this or carry on with this post??  your see from the attachment that i have ended up with a 2d array, the first coloum is a channel number and the secound column is the data for that channel. what i want to end up do is plotting all the data for channel 1 on  graph and on the same graph plot all the data from channel 2 etc. once the test system is up and running there will only ever be channel 0,1,2 and 3.

what way would you recomend to extract the data from the data column of the 2d array for all channel 0 data, channel 1 data, channel 2 data and channel 3 data.

any advice would truely be appreciated

🙂

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,440 Views)

Could you explain your data?  From what I can gather is that you are recieving a 16 bit word.  The first nibble (MSB) is the channel number and then you have 3 nibbles of data.  Is this assumption correct?

If so, your VI can be simplified to this:

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines