LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

create c# .NET assembly

Hi there,

I'm new to C# development. I try to create a .NET assembly in MS Visual C# Express 2010 and try to load it in LV 8.6.

The method used in the C# code is public. I've instructed the MS compiler to generate strong names automatically.

I've registered the dll with gacutil.

When I try to select the library in .NET constructor in LV, the error 

"The selected file is not a .NET assembly, type library or automation executable."

is thrown.

What's wrong ? IS there an othe way to create dlls in C# to load them in LV ? What's the easyest way  to use C# libraries ?

Ted

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,252 Views)

The likely issue is the .NET version. You indicated you're using C# Express 2010. Are you creating a .NET 4.0 assembly? LV 8.6 was not tested with .NET 4.0. While theoretically it should work, reality likes to shatter illusion far too many times in the software world. Can you upload the assembly (just zip it up). I also have C# Express 2010 so if you upload the source I can take a look at that as well.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,247 Views)

Hi smercurio,

On the properties tab of the C# .NET development environment, under

application -> target framework

I've tried 

-.NET framework 4 and

- .NET framework 4 client profile

with no improving result. I've attached the zip of the entire project.

I hope you can help me.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Ted 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,230 Views)

Hi Ted,

This is something I also had to solve.

Is it an option you change the .NET framework to 2 in "application -> target framework

C# .NET development environment,under application -> target framework"

I mean, do you use any new .NET features of version 4, that doesn't exists in version 2?

In my case it worked.

Michael

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
LV 8.2 at Windows & Linux

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8