LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

case structure execution on a FPGA

Solved!
Go to solution

I have been programming in LV for many years but am new to FPGAs. In the following code, normally the bottom method would be the correct method; only executing the equation once instead of every iteration (100X). But I have been told that on an FPGA both cases of the case structure execute each iteration with the appropriate output being used (can someone please confirm or refute this?) if this is true there is essentially no difference?

If this is true, is there any point to using a state machine on an FPGA or should all code be written 'flat'?

thanx for your help -

lmd2

Lawrence M. David Jr.
Certified LabVIEW Architect
cell: 516.819.9711
http://www.aleconsultants.com
larry@aleconsultants.com
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(5,624 Views)
Your image didn't make it into the message.  There is some problem with the path pointing to webkit-fake-url//.  You should attach your image as a file to your message.  Then you can go back and insert the image into the message based on the path to its location on NI's webserver which you can find by right clicking the attachment and selecting properties.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(5,613 Views)

thanx for the heads-up (although it is visible in my browser, I will attach it as a jpeg to be sure).

let me also say that in the image, I use 2 FOR loops,  which is not intended to represent the FPGA code, it is what is inside the FOR loops that I wish to optomize

thanx again

lmd2 

Lawrence M. David Jr.
larry@aleconsultants.com
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(5,606 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author lmd2

Imd2,