From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

build dll with array output

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm new to building dlls or interfacing Labview VIs with other programming languages. This is my first attempt trying to build dlls, so I have a basic question. Can anyone can point to how I can build a dll in Labview to return an array or array pointer?

For example, I have no problems producing a function prototype: double functioname (double arg1, double arg2, ...) using the application builder drop down menu under Source Files. But once I have an array output, arrayOut, in the VI, arrayOut is not available as a return value in the drop down menu. Only single value doubles are available as return values.

I seem to be able add the arrayOut as an argument pointer, but I am having problems calling back such a prototype in matlab.

Thanks.

FA

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,724 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author farn

Hi farn,

In order to pass an array in or out of a Labview DLL function you must pass an array data pointer along with the length of the initialized array to the VI in the function call.  When defining the VI Prototype while creating the DLL, Labview will automatically create an array pointer and its associated length value as 2 of the parameters if an array configured to be output on the wiring block of the VI.  The array will need to be instantiated to a certain length in the program calling the DLL.  The pointer to this array and its predetermined length must then be passed in to the DLL.  After execution the array data will be accessible at that memory location.  Also here's a little example I found that might be of some use to you.  http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/1518