LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

averaging a DC waveforms with software

Hello,

I am new to labview forum and have been digging through old posts for about a week and have a question on averaging a DC signal based on a external trigger. I working on a homemade instrument in the lab. An Ion Mobility Drift Tube with laser ablation. The trigger for the acquisition is the q-switch from the laser operating at 2Hz. I have found the perfect example, that acquires the signal in real time based on the trigger out from the laser. The example was found in the NI examples (Acq&Graph Voltage-Int Clk-HW Trig Restarts.VI). The averaging function for DC-RMS does not seem to work out very well for me or I am not correctly using this function. The other way I tried is with add and divide nodes by creating an array from an example I saw in another post on the forum. The problem I need help solving is a way to average the DC signal with the software based on averaging anywhere from 10-60 waveforms similar to that of an oscilloscope. The sampling rate can vary but I usually set to about every 10us. I'am using LV 8.0 and a PCIe-6251 DAQ-mx. Thanks for your time and any help you offer.  

Stephen   

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,567 Views)

Hi sd64,

If you're trying to get an average a series of waveforms, they need to be each in a different element of an array and after that the whole array is passed into Average DC/RMS. Right now you're only passing in one waveform at a time (after each read).

Jeff | LabVIEW Software Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,525 Views)

Jeff,

Thanks for the help, but I do not know how to write the waveform to different elements of an array. Still learning Labview as I go building this VI. Is there an example you can point me to or some literature I can read up on so I can build the array for averaging. How does Labview store the waveforms in the array for averaging?  

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(2,510 Views)