LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

automatic hammer

Hi!

I have no electronic background so I am only relying on some existing samples and researches.

What I have is NI USB 6002 and it is connected to a solenoid which will make an impact at constant spacing distance which was also recorded by the same NI 6002. Can someone help me with a labview code?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 34
(3,453 Views)
Your first problem is hardware. It is highly unlikely that the USB 6002 will be able to drive a solenoid unaided. What is this automatic hammer? What kind of solenoid is controlling it?

If you don't know electronics you need to be finding someone who does. What sort of background do you come from?

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 34
(3,417 Views)

It is a device which taps at constant spacing.

This is the concept:

I have a mobile system moving on top of my material and at specific interval, the hammer powered by solenoid (700 g force) will tap my material.So this distance sensor and hammer is connected to my NI 6002.

Another sensor attached to the system is connected to NI 9234 and will detect the impact and analyze it. It is similar to impact hammer test but what I am having problems with is automating hammer.

Im into materials so this configuration really confuse me.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 34
(3,407 Views)

The NI 6002 digital output lines have a max current output of 4mA this won't drive a solenoid, you need some basic electronic parts to turn the switched output from the 6002 in to something with a few amps (measure the current the solenoid pulls to get a more acurate figure) - Mike

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 34
(3,365 Views)