LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

actuator and load cell

Hello,

I'm very new at LabView. I have an actuator and a load cell.

My aim is to make the actuator move and the load cell needs to record some data when it gets touched.

I managed to make the actuator move but how can you set a certain distance you want it to reach and then it's supposed to stop? Because for now, it just continuously moves. I change the offset from the DC signal and it changes direction. I would like though to set a certain distance up, then pause for a few seconds and then move again down. Is it possible to do this in a loop? How?

Also, for now the data recorded from the load cell is a chart that has amplitude on the y axis and time on the x axis. Is it possible to convert it to force? In order to see how much the force changes when applying a different load. I am using a DAQ-6000 and I only have digital inputs. I do have an amplifier as well.

I attach a screenshot of my code on the block diagram.

Hope someone can help me.

Thanks a lot!!

carot95_0-1630938179801.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,268 Views)

How to control the actuator really depends on the actuator itself, i'm assuming from your image (you REALLY should post a VI and not just a screenshot) that square wave makes it go, so if you stop the square wave then the actuator should stop. As to where you stop it, you'll either need a position sensor or count the steps it makes.

About the force from the load cell, if the equation for transformation of amplitude to force is not written in the user manual, you'll probably have to calibrate it with standard weights and then calculate the equation from results. Then you incorporate that equation into the labview.

Regarding your code, you should check the training resources that can be found at the top of this forum. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,240 Views)

Thank you very much for your reply!