From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing multiple commands using button with serial port communication issue

hi , 

I'm relatively familiar with the basics of LabVIEW, but I am new to serial communication with VISA. I have had no luck finding a solution to my problem.

i'm testing a PCB card which has displays , i need to send multiple commands to test displays , but i got no response also i have problem with my buttons they send just the first command

please help Smiley Sad

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,727 Views)

Don't use Switch until released on that button.  You should be using Latched when Released.

Also, Don't use bytes at port.  If your messages have a termination character, and it seems they do since you have left the termination character enabled on your VISA Configure, then you should read a large number and allow the VISA Read to terminate once it receives the termination character.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,724 Views)

accually , i'm not using termination character . i just want to send hex commands in the same times with  buttons .i think i have problem in write event (case loop) 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(2,707 Views)

Then wire a False to the Enable Termination Character input of the Serial Configure.

Get rid of the number to string function that you wire to the case structure.  Perhaps that is the problem.  You can wire the enum directly to the case structure selector.

Make sure your VISA reference wire is wired across all cases of the event structure.