LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working in LabView using Excel data

Hi Everyone,

I am currently doing a project and I have all my data .. about 10 columns (with different variables such as Time, Speed, Distance, Acceleration) and about 4500 rows of different data that all tie into each other in Excel per unit time.

With this data, I want to be able to work with each variable, I want to be able to place them using filters (Savitzky-Golay, or Median, or Mean filtering) use mathscript/ nodes to have them feed into equations with each other to create a new variable and be able to graph them.

I have searched throughout youtube, as I am a visual learner but I am mainly getting sources of placing data in LabView into Excel, not the other way around. I am sure that this is all present but as a student during the COVID era, a complete newbie into programming of any kind, and having other modules to bury me it has been slightly overwhelming after scouring through the internet for help after a couple of days.

Thank you for taking the time to read/help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,955 Views)

Hi ljm,

@LJM1017 wrote:

I am currently doing a project and I have all my data .. about 10 columns (with different variables such as Time, Speed, Distance, Acceleration) and about 4500 rows of different data that all tie into each other in Excel per unit time.

Save the Excel worksheet to a CSV file. Then read this CSV file using spreadsheet file functions (aka delimited text file)...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(1,941 Views)

To be more specific,

How do I import excel data into Labview ... into an array or table?

Then be able to use the data in each column of that array to mathematically create a new value then graph it.

E.G.

Let's say in Excel I have Column A - "time", Column B -  Variable "X", Column C - Variable "Y". (5000 rows)