From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why can't I run this faster?

So let me start off by saying I have very little LabVIEW experience, and this code is the result of me playing around on my own for the last couple months. I haven't had any actual training so my understanding has been gained mostly through trial and error. That said, it's very possible I'm missing some understanding of key features that might easily solve my problem...

Anyway, here's the issue: I've coded a simple on-off, ramp/soak controller to power two small heaters. Right now it works but is very slow. What I mean by slow is that the code inside my loop takes around 1.8 seconds to run. What that means is if I set the sampling time to under 1.8s, the loop doesn't run at consistent increments, as some times it has to wait for two multiples of 1.8 to pass instead of just one. 

Does anyone see any obvious ways to speed this up? With the sampling time so high I get a lot of overshoot and waviness in my temperature response..

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

More details incase they're helpful:

Thermocouple Input DAQ Assistant - Takes in 3 thermocouple values from an NI 9213, acquisition mode set to On Demand

Digital Output DAQ Assistant - Outputs a Digital Line Output to the heaters via an NI 9472, generation mode set to On Demand

DAQ Assistant outside of the loop - Just there to make sure the heaters are turned off once the profile is complete

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,856 Views)

What is inside of the PID VI?  I'm not seeing anything blarring on the top-level VI.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines