From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Waveform measurements - info needed

I am fairly new to LabView and am trying to understand some of the vis in the Waveform Measurements and Analyze folders. Help with any of the following questions is appreciated.

1) What is the phase output of the Spectral Measurements Express vi? I've seen several examples using this function and none of them use the phase output. If I put in a simulated sine wave with no phase offset, the FFT phase output is -90 deg at the input freq.

2) What is the amplitude output of the Tone Measurements Express vi? It looks like average peak value over the duration of the signal, but I'd like to be sure.

3) If I get a value of 28.42f at the "detected phase" output of the Extract Single Tone Information vi, what does the "f" mean?

4) Is there any information about the details of these functions? The information in the Help window is scant, the tutorials provide a lot of theory, the examples don't always cover what I want to know. Is there somewhere that provides a fuller explanation of the inputs and outputs of the functions?

Thanks in advance,
Margaret
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,851 Views)

1) What is the phase output of the Spectral Measurements Express vi? I've seen several examples using this function and none of them use the phase output. If I put in a simulated sine wave with no phase offset, the FFT phase output is -90 deg at the input freq.

I'll just answer this: when you do a spectral measurement, you have Magnitude and Phase.  Usually, the most used measurement regards Amplitude (FFT for someone...), but in some application, also phase matters (for example, to check if a system has a generalized linear phase).