LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Water Flow Meter Read-Out in LabVIEW

Hi,

First, I am a relatively inexperienced LabVIEW developer, so while I will do my best to provide all the necessary information, if something is missing or unclear, my apologies in advance. 

I am attempting to read the output of an IFM SM6001 flow meter in LabVIEW, and write the flow values to an Excel file. To do this, I am using a USB-6008 DAQ board (with 9.3.5 drivers) and LabVIEW 2010 on a Windows 7 64-bit machine. The specifications for the flow meter may be found at: http://www.ifm.com/products/us/ds/SM6001.htm.  The flow it can measure is 0.03-6.6 gallons/min of water. (For reference, my application will cover a range roughly between 1.5 and 3 gallons/min.) The flow meter requires 19-30V DC, and I am powering it using a generic 24V power supply, which I believe (based on testing with a multimeter) is working. It is a 4 wire system (supposedly) capable of outputting either a 0-10V analog voltage signal or a 4-20mA current signal, depending on user preference. I have configured the sensor to output 0-10V, but in testing, I have changed the settings to attempt to read current, adjusting the parameters of the DAQ assistant accordingly (to no avail). I have since returned the settings to output voltage (again, configuring the DAQ Assistant accoridngly), but I am still having trouble. 

My wiring is as such:

Pin 1 (Brown wire): Positive Power Supply

Pin 2 (White wire): AI7 of DAQ board

Pin 3 (Black Wire): Not connected (This is based on the understanding that it is not a ground wire, but used as a pulse or switching output. If this is the error, and it should be connected to the AI7 ground, please let me know.)

Pin 4 (Blue Wire): Negative Power Supply