From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VFD communication Modbus RTU by RS-485

Hey Guys,

I am relatively new to labview and am having trouble controlling a teco westinghouse VFD (A-510).

I have a labview code that generates the apparent RTU command that should be send out to the VFD but I am unsure if the serial write of the VIs are correct.

http://www.tecowestinghouse.ca/controls/drives/a510/

As a sanity check for an 1800RPM (60Hz) input, the command should match the attached image.

I am thinking that there is an error in how i set up my VISA serial communication. Should i be using the Modbus pallette instead ? 

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,276 Views)

Hello,

It is having mod bus over RS-485 so the communication protocol is Modbus RTU / ASCII.

If your application is just to do some basic operation then you can use digital inputs or analog inputs of VFD for controlling speed,ON/OFF etc.

Refer page 3-16, 9-3 in below link

http://www.tecowestinghouse.ca/wp-content/uploads/A510_instruction_manual.pdf

For the mod bus communication refer page 4-212,7-4

I think if you do not  have RS-485 then use RS-485 to RS 232 converter to connect to PC side.

Labview library-http://www.ni.com/example/29756/en/

Expand.Evolve.Influence
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(5,259 Views)

Hi,

So i am trying to use the modbus library pallete to send the following command to the VFD

Node Address: 01

Function: 10

Starting address: 25 01

# of Registers: 00 02

# of Bytes: 04

Data 1: 00 01

Data 2: 17 70

CRC-16: 60 27