LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using waveform chart or graph to view analog signal for some amount of time?

I'm new to LabVIEW and am still having trouble figuring out how to accomplish my task, although I think I'm pretty close and just looking for some help.

General goal: Essentially I am reading an analog signal using DAQmx from two different channels and conducting an experiment for 60 sec (not an exact value). During this time I want to sample the two analog signals at a frequency of 1 kHz. While this is going on I want all the values of the analog signals to be displayed on a graph/chart (such that values are not deleted). In other words, my graph would have 0 to ~60 seconds on the x-axis, and voltage values of the two signals on the y-axis. If the graph appears after the 60 seconds are over (rather than continuously showing new data during the 60 second period) that would be fine too, though not as ideal. Finally I want to export the data as a csv (or excel, table, etc.).

Specific problem: I've attached a file of what I have so far (based on a tutorial).

(1) For the timing function I'm confused on if I should set the sample mode to finite sampling or continuous. My experiments last about 60 seconds, but it would be easier if data is continuously collected until I press a stop button. And also would the samples per channel essentially be 60 times my frequency (in order to collect data for 60 sec)? 

(2) Then I'm not sure what to set the number of samples per channel within the read function, and whether the read function should be within a while loop or not.

(3) And finally, should the output of the read function be directly inputted into a chart or graph? Or should it be first put into array structure / array data converter of some sort?

Sorry for the long (and basic) post! Any help/resources on this would be much appreciated!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(1,179 Views)

Hi Fan,

@KnicksFan wrote: