From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using text file to initialize front panel controls

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to LabVIEW and am stuck on something that I thought should be pretty easy to accomplish. I have a form wtih about 50 controls on it. I can loop through these controls and write their values to a text file without a problem. This is done in a way that I can add or remove controls and the code to generate the text file doesn't need to change.

I can also read this file in and parse it up without any problems. However, nothing I have tried gets the controls populated. I've attached my current code and the text file I'm reading from. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to accomplish this?

My code to read and write the text file is attached. Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,348 Views)

Hi wvfrc,

Personally, I like to use the MGI Read/Write Anything library for configuration files. You can find this on VIPM. Some comments on your code:

1. In LoopThroughTab.vi get rid of Open/Create/Replace File. It is already called inside Write Delimited Spreadsheet.

2. Get rid of Array to Spreadsheet String. You can feed your data array directly into Write Delimited Spreadsheet.

3. This will only capture the controls that are inside the tab. The ones not in the Tab control are excluded.

4. In PopulateControlsFromCSV.vi it looks like you take column 0 and look for a label match. However, in the file you uploaded, it is actually row 0 that contains your labels. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,325 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author wvfrc