From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using rotary encoder position to trigger an analog pulse

Solved!
Go to solution
Hello, I am pretty new to the Labview software, but my lab needs me to find a way to adjust our engine's fuel injection timing based on a rotary encoder's position. I am using a Nikon RX1000-22-1 Rotary encoder, and a NI 6040E DAQboard connected to a SCB 68 E series breadboard. I am having a lot of difficult making the encoder's position trigger the analog pulse generation. Thanks in advance for any information.
-------------------------------------------
PXIe-1071
PXIe-8115 Embedded Controller
PXIe-6363 X Series Multifunction DAQ
PXI-7854R FPGA
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,102 Views)

Hello Tokodaisei

Thanks for using National Instruments Discussion forum.

Please provide a little more information about what you are actually doing.

1) How do you operate Nikon RX1000-22-1 Rotary encoder.i.e. moving it manually or it moves with some motor.
2) how do you produce analog pulse.(using DAQmx analog output? do you want to start it at the specific position of encouder.)

For that you need to first recognize the specific position of encouder and then generate a pulse at that instant,which then,

triggers the analog output.

3) Can you attach your code over here.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,079 Views)

1.) The rotary encoder will move with the engine, so it will basically represent the crank angle.