LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using gpib-32.dll in Labview 7.0

Hi there,

I am relatively new to Labview and I need some help trying to program an old HP3488A switch/control unit using the Call Library Function Node. I would like to convert the existing VB6 code, which uses gpib-32.dll, into Labview. What I have done in the VB code is to call the ibdev function to set up the HP instrument. I would like to do the same in Labview. How would I even go about setting up the .dll files as I am revamping the existing code (running on a Pentium II computer) and trying to create an identical code in Labview (running on a Pentium III computer). Also, after I have set up the .dll files (done any system configurations if necessary), how do I actually implement this file in Labview?

I have tried calling the ibdev function in the properties of the Call Library Function. I created 6 parameters of return types with ranges of type long. Then I pass integers into the input of this node and when I tried running it I get an error exception within the external code as follows:

"An exception occured within the external code called by a Call Library Node. This might have corrupted Labview's memory. Save any work to a new location and restart Labview. VI "switch.vi" was stopped at Call Library Function Node 0x1D7C of subVI "switch.vi"

Can someone please help me? Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,908 Views)

I would abandon the Call Libraray Function node route completely.

Just use LabVIEW's built-in GPIB Read and GPIB Write and GPIB Init elements.

And if this instrument supports VISA, I would use LabVIEW's VISA Open, VISA Write, and VISA Read.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,891 Views)
nyc is correct. You're making this far too complicated. There's even a driver already written for the instrument that can be downloaded from https://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.download_page?p_id_guid=E3B19B3E94C3659CE034080020E74... .
0 Kudos