LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using an external Clock with NI 6585

I have an interface board connected to a TI ADS6444 Evaluation board (QUAD serializer ADC), in turn plugged into my NI 6585/PXI-7954R, see the Project Screen shot. I can acquire data using internal clock but now I want to switch to an external clock. First I want to get the external clock working then do the unserializing. I am quite new to LabVIEW FPGA. I get a variety of errors such as " The Read method for IO Module\DDCA_Data_Rd_Rise is used in a clock domain that does not support it. The supported clock domain is "IO Module Clock 0". To change the frequency of the supported clock domain, launch the properties dialog for the CLIP item in the LabVIEW project and choose the "Clock Selections" page." I have tried to configure the clock to fixed and variable frequencies, see clock properties screen shot. Thanks in advance.
LeMur Technology Services, LLC
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,864 Views)

Update

Opened a service request. for this problem.  Talked it over with NI engineer and thought the problem was because I disn't have the latest and greatest software versions e.g. RIO and LabVIEW.  Compiled a blank VI using the DDC connector and comilied successfully.  No matter what I do if I do a FPGA I/O Node call to DDCA_Data_RD_RISE (or fall) I get the error: "The Read method for IO Module\DDCA_Data_Rd_Fall is used in a clock domain that does not support it. The supported clock domain is "IO Module Clock 0".  To change the frequency of the supported clock domain, launch the properties dialog for the CLIP item in the LabVIEW project and choose the "Clock Selections" page." 

For grins I wired the FPGA I/O node Expected I/O module ID to the FIFO input and read a number (7488[HEX]). 

Begining to suspect the NI 6585 CLIP has a bug?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,828 Views)

Hi Glemunyan,