LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using an events count and a difference of counts, how can I set up a cyclometer function?

Hi,

First of all I have very little experience with LabView and I'm currently trying to develop a cyclometer as follows:

There are 4 magnets in a wheel. A reed swtich is attached to the frame which activates when a magnet passes by, therefore 1 revolution = 4 counts.

I have a Count Digital Events code and a Difference of counts (both attached below) but I'm getting confused on how to integrate or use both to create a cyclometer function. I want to be able to calculate the distance traveled, velocity with moving average, velocity without moving average and average velocity(overall).

So far I think I got the total distance figured out:

Using the Count Digital Events code, I count a number of counts, the divide by 4 ( because there are 4 magnets). This gives me 1 revolution. Then the tire has a circumference of 2*pi*r, therefore the total distance is: (number of counts/4)*(2*pi*r).

My next step was to calculate the velocity. My idea is that if I set the Count Digital Events code to run the loop every second, I will get a measurement of counts per second, which then I can convert to velocity and rev/min.  However I have attempted to do this but I can't figure out a way to make the Count Digital Events code do this, or even if this is the correct approach to calculate the velocity.

Once I get the instantaneous velocity and distance figured out I will go onto figuring out how to do the velocity with moving average and average velocity overall. Also, I believe I should use the Difference of Counts code but I'm not sure how it would be helpful.

Thank you for your help and time!

Alex

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,089 Views)