LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using LabVIEW for basic program control

Hello All,

I'd like to use labVIEW for some process control and I have limited knowledge of the software. What I'd like to do in process steps are

Process Set Up (all data needs to be recorded to an excel file)

1. Scan Operator (from barcode, refering to a excel sheet to give me a pass or fail criteria. If the number is not on the excel sheet, the process stops)

2. Date (write automatically to excel file).

3. Time (write automatically to excel file).

Process

1. Scan 1 part (write automatically to excel file).

2. Measure voltage - Pass or Fail between a tolerance (automatically write result to excel file).

3. Proximity sensor - Pass or Fail.

4. Repeat step 1 to 3. 4 times.

5. Print all recorded data as a barcode or QR code.

Would really appreciate the help, just as a starting point!! I've sat here for a few hours and not got anywhere.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,225 Views)

Hi JLSN,

What I'd like to do in process steps are

Whenever you can define certain "steps" (aka states) in your "process" (aka program) you should think of a state machine!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,213 Views)

A State Machine would be one place to start for the process.

Barcodes Scanners typically have a keyboard interface, so that part should be a simple GUI screen with a string input.  The Event Structure will help here.

Talking to Excel can be weird.  It takes a lot of ActiveX interfacing.  There are many examples floating around if you look.

The measuring of the voltage depends on what you are using to perform the measurement (DMM?  DAQ?)

I know there is an example for printing a QR code.  I just don't have time to look.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines