From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using .DLL file/ Call Library File to Obtain Image Data from USB Camera

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to using library files and imaging data. Attached is an image of the "Call library File". I don't know how to set up the "buf" input/ frame buffer. 

More info is explained in the attached PDF.

Basically I just need to grab the image data and convert it to an actual image. I searched LabVIEW help files and other sites but I can't find a clear solution. Any help would be appreciated.

FYI - I can communicate with the camera using other library file functions. The camera opens, I can set/view ROI and other data. I just cant figure out the frame buffer.

-griplegraple

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,210 Views)

Please, if you're going to attach an image of LabVIEW code, make it easy and use a standard graphics format (PNG, JPG, GIF) that you can embed directly in your post.  Don't take a screenshot and then post it into a PDF.  You can get a PNG image directly from LabVIEW by selecting the relevating portion and choosing Edit->Creating VI Snippet from Selection.

To pass in the buffer, use "Initialize Array."  Wire a U8 to the type input, and the desired array size to the size input.  Wire the array output to the call library node, configured to accept that parameter as an array of unsigned char.

Message 2 of 12
(3,207 Views)

Hey Nathand,

Thanks for the info, I will try the U8 in the type input. 

Didn't realize the PDF was a bad idea...  I will use VI Snippets from now on. 

mr. griplegraple

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,200 Views)

Hey Nathand,