LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using C++ / VB with labVIEW components?

Dear All,

I'm still a novice in LabVIEW and actually given up on the software and their components - mainly because of their lukewarm support over here in Asia. However, I have demands on such usage. My question is that, can I use non-LabVIEW controllers with the labVIEW software? Such as those components like ADLINK TECHNOLOGY, ADVANTECH, NUDAM, PHOENIX CONTROL? Can labVIEW be used to control those components?

My intention is to not waste the investment that I have spent on LabVIEW, by going for their training and use the software on other much more cost effective components. Some of the parts in NI are too expensive.

Also, on the same note vice versa, can we use C++ .net or VB language to program LabVIEW components? This question is to prepare for on event if I really cannot use labVIEW to achieve what I want, the current labVIEW hardware, can I use Visual Studio and do my own coding from basics? What will I need? additional driver?

I really need advice and help on above by all veterans here since I am not getting much technical support over here, only have the sales to keep calling on me to buy additional items. Smiley Sad

Thanks a million!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,648 Views)

Hi cfp,

Yes, you can use Labview to call non-LV functions.

Typically, they are dll's which are called using the "Call Library Function Node", under the Advanced menu of the Functions palette (in the block diagram).  With the appropriate LV development package, you can also create LV dll's which can be called by some other program. 

Depending on the Labview version that you have, there is also dot net (.NET) support. They are located from the block diagram, in the Functions Palette, under Communication.  (In LV 7.1)

Hope this helps,

JLV

Message 2 of 5
(2,641 Views)