From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use Window's scriptcontrol eval to parse JScript response from Java Server

I've been asked to create a program to send and receive data to our Java Server. I've never worked with Java or even HTML before but there is some working code written in VB that I've been working from to get me started. I have successfully made connection to the server using IWinHttpRequest which returns a parse-able string. In the VB code they used MSScriptControl.IScriptControl to parse the returned string into an object that they could query for different parameters like 'returnStatus' and 'returnType'. This seems like a great advantage over parsing the string in LabVIEW. However, the return of this functions is a variant that seems to be just an 'object'. I am not very familiar with LVOOP or OOP in general and so I have no idea what to do with this 'object'. I've tried creating a LVObject that contained a control for all the parameters in the return string, then take the variant from the scriptcontrol and Type Set it as my LVObject and remove the parameters through the Object's cluster. But that didn't seem to work. I would like to know if this possible or should I give up and just go with the long yet sure way.

I am using LabVIEW 8.5.1 on an XP machine. I think this would be easier if I had 8.6 or 2009 but alas I don't.

Attached is my trial VI

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,328 Views)

Hey ntaINC,

Here's a link about LVOOP in LabVIEW 8.5, under the resources there are links to the National Instruments developer zone that should help you work with the object you're creating from the parsed strings.

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361D-01/lvconcepts/front_oolv/

Peter W.