cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use Data output of VI in Host as Input in Main VI in Target

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear all,

I am new in LabVIEW and I would like your help if that is possible. As part of my master thesis, I have to use a project written by a PhD student several years ago. I am using LabVIEW 18 in windows 10 and a cRIO 9074 controller.

There are 2 main VIs in the project, MainSimple.vi running on the real time target and MainHost.vi running on the PC.

I attempt to run the MainSimple.vi but to achieve this a frequency table has to be loaded on the MainSimple.vi which takes values from a subvi called freqtablesTRIAL3VI.vi (which basically is a program that reads 110 txt files and converts them into a 2D numerical array).

However when I run MainSimple the table turns up with 0 values and I receive an error code 7 saying that file is not found and that I should verify that the path is correct even though freqtablesTRIAL3VI.vi works perfectly fine on the host.

I tried to move the folder in various locations in My Computer and inside cRIO using files transfer option in NI Max but nothing changed.

Then I attempted to run freqtablesTRIAL3VI.vi in the host and transfer the output on MainSimple.vi using a customized network shared variable but when I deploy it and run the Main I get errors. As I read it might be because I cannot enable the RT FIFO option due to the fact that my customized variable is a 2d array but I am not sure about it.

Then I thought to use network streams but If I realized correctly I can only use them to transfer data from cRIO to host and not the opposite direction (please correct me I have misunderstood).

So basically I am trying to find a way to use the data output from freqtablesTRIAL3VI running on my host as input in MainSimple. running on my target.

Any help on how can I achieve this would be greatly appreciated.