LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update Parent Class

Hi everyone,

I am very new to OOP in LabVIEW.

My question is: I created a Parent class and a child class; so far so good. But now after changing something in Parent.ctl, is it possible to apply this change to Child1.ctl? 

Or it's not possible update something after creating the Parent Class?

regards

Sinan

CLD

Sinan_Ismael_0-1625123731545.pngSinan_Ismael_1-1625123802808.pngSinan_Ismael_2-1625124044544.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,530 Views)

That added data at the parent level does not need to be duplicated in the child. It is inherently in child, because it inherits it from the parent.

Message 2 of 11
(2,488 Views)

Right click on the parent.lvclass and create "VI for data member access"

Create read and write methods, I also allow to be set via property nodes.

Then within the child you can use the property nodes (or the accessor VIs) to set and get the data of the parent.

deceased_0-1625144440224.png

Message 3 of 11
(2,486 Views)

Thanks.

Could you please attach your project? I cann't understand where within child to access the ParentClass

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(2,458 Views)

Children classes inherit everything from the parent class. That means all data and methods. In LabVIEW however, the child class does not have direct access to the class private data which is the class control. If the parent wants to provide access to the data it will need to provide accessors which the child class can then use to access the data. Because the parent implements the accessors to the data it controls how it can be accessed. If only a read accessor is provided the children classes will only be able to read the data. Then in your code simply drop the parent class accessor unto the block diagram and your child can now use the data.

Mark Yedinak
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion