LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unresponsive GUI while receiving data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi I'm fairly new to Labview and still getting used to the dataflow programming model. I'm trying to use LV as a control panel for some software and hardware running on an FPGA for a prototype I'm creating. The communication with the FPGA is done through UART and seems to work fine. I have the problem however that my control buttons become unresponsive in some specific occasions. I think the best way to go here is that I explain what my program should do (and what I think it should be doing), post my VI, explain when it blocks and hopefully someone can help me isolate the problem.

As I've said LV is supposed to be the control panel, through this panel the user can change some settings and start/stop the measurement. The controls are send to the FPGA (a ZYBO board for the interested) which applies the commands and sends the measurements back. 

I based my VI on the simple state machine template and build the rest from there. I tried not to use too much variables as I've read that this breaks the dataflow model but sometimes I couldn't find any other way.