LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to access Networked Shared Variables from certain computers in the network

This is my first time posting on these forums, so please forgive me if this is not the place or the way to ask for help regarding my problem.

I am trying to set up Networked Shared Variables between three computers that are connected to the same Wi-Fi router. I have written a small project containing a library with a shared variable, and two VIs, one which writes a value to it and one which reads it. After deploying the shared variable library from each of the computers I have tried to use the Distributed System Manager to check that the variable sharing is working properly, but it isn't. From computer A I can see the shared variables from computers A, B and C, but computers B and C can only see their own shared variables (see attached images). As long as a computer can see a variable I can write and read from it as expected using the write and read VIs.

It seems as if something is preventing computers B and C from receiving.

As suggested here (https://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361R-01/lvhowto/psp_firewall/), I have opened the following ports in the firewalls of each computer: TCP 2343, 59110-59115 and UDP 2343, 6000-6010, 5000-5010, and I have changed the router configuration to trigger ports TCP 2343, 59110-59115 and UDP 2343 (although I must admit I don't have a very good idea of how port triggering works or how to set it up properly). I have allowed the files mentioned here (https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA03q000000YIKqCAO&l=en-GB) as firewall exceptions in all three computers. I have also tried to disable the firewalls altogether, but it made no difference.

The three computers are running LabVIEW 18.

What may I be doing wrong?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,343 Views)