LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB GPS Control

I was wondering if anyone out there has examples of controlling their GPS units via Labview. That is displaying various information on the front panel and saving data to the hard drive. I'm using Labview 7 Express and trying to use a relatively new Garmin product, the USB GPS 18. I seem to have found various posts dealing with serial port connections, but I'm not sure how this would translate into USB. I'm still pretty new at Labview. I was hoping maybe someone had some examples to share or something I could go on.

Thanks...
Using Labview 7.0 and 2010 SP1 with Windows XP and 7.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 32
(6,417 Views)
Here is the vi I found that I had made reference to earlier. It is for a Garmin GPS 45 unit controlled via the serial port. I was wondering if anyone had tried this vi before and/or modified to fit their needs or come up with something similar. Basically I'd like to have something like this, except run my GPS through the USB port, which I'm not sure how to do in Labview. I did find a SDK file from Garmin, which has commands for C++, etc. But again, I'm not skilled in that language.

Any help or insights anyone could provide, would be most appreciated.

Thanks...
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 32
(6,394 Views)
Unfortunately communicating over serial and USB are fundamentally different, so the serial information you found really isn't valid anymore. You do have two possibilities for communicating with your USB GPS device.

1) I'm guessing the C++ SDK you found simply makes calls to a DLL. The easiest method for communicating with your device would be to use a Call Library Node in LabVIEW to make calls to that DLL.