LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to interface Keithley 2400 Sourcemeter using RS 232.

When I use the basic serial read and write vi, I get a "Keithley I*" at visa read, and I also get the following data -

bytes read - 83

string read - KEITHLEY\sINSTRUMENTS\sINC.,MODEL\s2400,1092330,C27\s\s\sFeb\s\s4\s2004\s14:58:04/A02\s\s/K/J\r\n

I get this when the string to write is - "*IDN?\n"

all the parameter match with that of the device (baud rate, parity, data bits, flow control)

Also can anyone tell me what is the Stop Bit and what value do I need to set it to be able to read data from Keithley.

I am new to LabView so please keep it simple and explain in detail. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 23
(9,045 Views)

LabVIEW drivers for this instrument is available in NI Instrument Driver Network.

http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.model_page?p_model_id=1583

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 23
(9,032 Views)

I am using RS232 - these drivers are for GPIB - and moreover I have the drivers.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 23
(9,029 Views)

The same driver you can use for RS232 interface as well.

See below, Init.vi in same library.

Init.png

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 23
(9,026 Views)

@smkuls wrote:

When I use the basic serial read and write vi, I get a "Keithley I*" at visa read, and I also get the following data -

bytes read - 83

string read - KEITHLEY\sINSTRUMENTS\sINC.,MODEL\s2400,1092330,C27\s\s\sFeb\s\s4\s2004\s14:58:04/A02\s\s/K/J\r\n

I get this when the string to write is - "*IDN?\n"

all the parameter match with that of the device (baud rate, parity, data bits, flow control)

Also can anyone tell me what is the Stop Bit and what value do I need to set it to be able to read data from Keithley.

I am new to LabView so please keep it simple and explain in detail. Thanks in advance.