LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger+Synchronization Problem (DAQmx)

Hello dear LabVIEW-experts,

I'm new to LabVIEW and I'm struggling with a problem I thought to be fairly simple:

I need a retriggerable single Output Counter signal (of about 1µs high) that is synchronous with the rising edge of a fast 400kHz Input Counter and which should be repeatedly triggered by a slightly slower and irregular (20-100kHz) Input Counter. I'm using a PCI-6602 to get the two trigger-pulses and to generate the output counter.

I read some DAQmx tutorials and examples and some forum posts about similar problems and here are the three solutions I came up with, but none work properly...

1: My first idea was to use the slower signal for the Arm-Start-Trigger and the fast signal for the Start-Trigger. That way, may generated pulse is synchronous to the fast pulse but only occurs after the slow pulse has been there. This is exactly what I want, but it only works once, because I can't find a way to make the Arm-Start-Trigger retriggerable.
I tried to run the VI in a loop, which is never a good idea and only worked up to 500Hz. That's by far not fast enough. Is there a way to make the Arm-Start-Trigger retriggerable like the Start-Trigger? Maybe in C#? I tried it there too, with the same problem...

2: My second attempt was to switch the Output-Counter to "rate" and I used the fast pulse as the rate-source. The slow pulse was a normal retriggerable Start-Trigger. That works fine, and I get a signal synchronous to my 400kHz, but the pulses are too long, because the minimal rate is 2 high and 2 low, so twice as long as my 400kHz pulses. But I need to freely adjust the length of the outgoing pulse.