LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger Parallel Loop from Event Structure

Hello all. I am very new to LV, so bear with me. I know I can probably clean a lot of this up with Arrays, etc., but I will improve as I get it working.

So, I have a program to control a 4 channel power supply, and by clicking a button, I want to be able to record the Voltage and Current on each of the channels at a regular interval, and simultaneously write the values to a .csv or .txt file.

So, where I currently am, I can start the recording, but then it seems that I get caught in some sort of loop, as I am unable to stop the recording. If I hit Stop and restart the program, then it won't start recording the next time, but if I click on the Abort button, then it will start recording, but then never stop. I initially had my recording loop within my case structure, but read that is not doable. I looked into various state machines and the producer/consumer method, but not sure if this is what I need.

Can someone give me insight on what I am doing wrong?

Thanks,

Mike

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,969 Views)

Wow!  Your Block Diagram takes 12 monitors (four across and three down) to see all at once!  No wonder you can't "do it right".  Here are some (important) suggestions:

• Get rid of all local Variables.  In LabVIEW, "The Wires Are the Data" (I just made that up).  Put a Shift Register on your While Loop, Wire a False Boolean to the outside (left) edge, and run that Boolean wire to the corresponding place on the other side.  Put a Label on the Wire called "Ch1_On/Off".  When you need to use this value, simply connect a wire to it and wire it in.  When you need to set it, break the wire and connect your Ch1_On/Off Control to it.