LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timed loops with visa

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, i am new in labview and i need some help.

I have a microscope shutter that is controlled by VISA.

I want this shutter to open for X milisecs (eg. 100 msecs) and then close, wait  W secs (eg. 3 secs ) until it opens again wait the same X milisecs until it closes again and wait W secs again and so on . And I want to repeat this cycle Z times (eg. 100 times). I use shift operators in a time loop but I can not stop the loop in the middle of the operation. 

thanks,

carlos

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,501 Views)

What you want to use is a state machine architecture.  You'd essentially have 3 states that would be open shutter, close shutter, and wait.  In shift registers, you'd pass your iteration count and whether you are currently open or closed.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,495 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author carlosgarzon

Hi Carlos,

As Raven suggested would indeed be the way to go.  I've attached a first draft of that thing with the needed documentation.  If something is not clear, don't hesitate to ask.

ShutterStateMachine_Snippet.png

Kind regards,

- Bjorn -

Have fun using LabVIEW... and if you like my answer, please pay me back in Kudo's 😉
LabVIEW 5.1 - LabVIEW 2012
Message 3 of 6
(2,483 Views)

hi guys,

thanks for the help. i am still confused with one aspect. I want to start that process only when a button is pressed (a boleam) and stop it if the button is again pressed to the stop state or if the stop button is pressed. I put your code into a event structure but somehow i cannot stop the loop once this has started.

Howe could I just initiate the proces and stop it any time i want ???

sorry i am just a biologist trying to work with microscopes and my background in signals, equipment, programin etc is very limited !!! ooops  🙂

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(2,459 Views)

I realized that it is better if I show you my complete VI.