LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time Stamping Signal from NI9422

Hello All,
         I am trying to use the NI cDAQ-9172 with a NI-9422 module and I am trying to figure out if the following can be done with LabVIEW.  What I need to do is whenever I get a signal on the NI-9422 I want to time stamp the signal with the current date and time.  The input into the NI-9422 is a part sensor off of a product line.  Also, I will need to monitor the NI-9422 for about a 24hr. period to collect the data that I get with each timestamp.  Is it possible to save this data to an excel or a sheadsheet?  Any help with this would appreciated.  Thanks.

Brandon 
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(2,973 Views)
Bump.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(2,958 Views)
If anyone has any info. regarding this it would help out alot.  I am very new to Labview and in need of help.  Thanks for anyones help!
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(2,949 Views)
Hi Brandon,
yes it is possible to do what you want. Search for DAQmx in the example finder. See the small example, it shows how to read a digital value with time information.

Mike

Message Edited by MikeS81 on 05-06-2008 03:50 PM
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 19
(2,945 Views)
Thank you Mike for your help.  I will test this out and see if this will work.  Thnks again.
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 19
(2,942 Views)
Mike, I had a question for you.  The waveform graph that comes off the (Get Waveform Components (Digital Waveform), where is this located on the control palette?  I can't find this.  Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 19
(2,924 Views)
Mike,
        I got this code to work, but what would be the best way to extract the data you get to an excel file with the time stamp along with each input signal?  Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 7 of 19
(2,910 Views)

Hi Brandon,

what for do you need it later? How many digital signals do you have now?

Mike

0 Kudos
Message 8 of 19
(2,892 Views)

Hi Mike,