LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Third Party LIN to USB Converter using serial Communication

Hi all. Sorry if my question seems to be uneducated. I'm just new to Labview Environment. I have third party LIN to USB converter for my project. In Labview, this converter only recognized as "com" which in my case "com3". Using Labview, I only can use Visa serial to communicate with the device. When I sent command the break signal then followed sync field = 0x55 and the PID = 0xA8 the respond returns back to be 0055A8. Unit should respond with "XX XX XX YY XX 0X FF FF" as example. If anybody can help me get trough this, I will be greatly thankful.

I attached picture as the reference. LIN Serial project .jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,588 Views)

Hi man,

@man001 wrote:

When I sent command the break signal then followed sync field = 0x55 and the PID = 0xA8 the respond returns back to be 0055A8. Unit should respond with "XX XX XX YY XX 0X FF FF" as example. If anybody can help me get trough this, I will be greatly thankful.

Why do you send a break?

Which kind of LIN-USB converter do you use?

Can you link to a manual of that device?

Why do you send a value of "28" when you want to send 0xA8?

Did you set that integer constant to use hex display? (We cannot edit/debug/run images in LabVIEW!!!)

Why do you (try to) read 16 bytes when you expect a response of 8 bytes? (Or does that response string consist of 25 chars/bytes?)

Why do you enable the (default) TermChar for your serial communication?

Why don't you use AutoCleanup?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(1,584 Views)

I sent it because LIN protocol need to have break signal then followed by sync field = 0x55 and the PID 0xA8 right? Because the computer is the master, so it need to sent the header which consist of break signal, sync field and PID.