From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The main strength of a QMH in State machine applications

Hi all,

I am raising this topic as a discussion to enable me learn more about the concept of Queued Message handlers and to get endorsements or criticisms regarding a few personal opinions (myths) that I have developed since reading up the subject and looking at templates/examples for first time a few days ago 🙂

Now kindly note that I am very new to this entire "Labview / code business" so please bear with me 🙂

I have been used to simple single loop state machine architecture for a a few weeks now so using the QMH is new to me but I guess I realized how useful it could be in triggering "priority events"

I am now beginning to think that the ability of the QMH to communicate between parallel loops ( event and message loops) as well as the ability to send priority messages which I believe can interrupt an executing SubVi ( correct me if I am wrong) appear to be the two key strengths of this architecture over the SSM architecture.

Would be glad to have feedback ( corrections or expansion of the same views as applicable ) on my above comments.

[BADGE NAME]

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(3,691 Views)
So i guess sending a priority message from the event loop to the message loop to handle an idle case can be a way to perform a cancel ( truncate) execution of a subvi where the user does not want to wait for that subvi to complete its execution ?

[BADGE NAME]

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(3,688 Views)