LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synchronizing Analog Input and Delayed Digital Output (LabVIEW 2014)

I'm using LabVIEW 2014 with a USB-6363. Since I suspect that my attempt at a solution is much more complex than it should be, I'll separate what I want to do from how I tried to do it.

Objective 

Given a set of U8 binary numbers and a certain clock, I'd like to, for each U8 binary number,

1. begin recording analog input
  2. after a small initial delay, write out the binary number to a port on my device
  3. after a preset number of clock pulses, end analog input collection and append the data to an existing file.

I would like to repeat the above three steps for each U8 number in an array, so I end up with a file with a different series of data for each number in the array. 

Implementation

I'm new to LabVIEW, and I spent a fair amount of time trying to figure out the best way to do this. I ended up trying to control each measurement "cycle" of reading, writing, and saving with one clock and handling the measurements with another (but triggering off of the cycle clock). I was going for something like this, 

CB_clocks.pngwhere CLK 3 controls the cycle and CLK 1 controls I/O (CLK 2 is just needed for operation of the circuit in question). I used the falling edge of CLK 3 to trigger the I/O, and the rising edge to trigger saving the data.

In my implementation, I didn't know how to change CLK 3's low time so that it encompassed a variable number of preset clock pulses in step 3, so I just made it long enough to encompass any number I might choose (1 second). That is likely my first of many mistakes.

I ended up with the following VI (which I've also attached):

VI for synchronized AI/DO and savingVI for synchronized AI/DO and saving