LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SubPanel visibility based on Boolean selection

Hi,

I'm fairly new to LabView and I have been working on this issue for the past few days.  Basically, what I'm trying to accomplish is this.  There will be approximately 8 buttons horizontally that each are to load a separate Subpanel, with each subpanel housing its own SubVI.  The Subpanels are to be overlapped, so that when, let's say, Button 1 is pressed, all other subpanels are to be hidden,  and solely Subpanel 1 to be visible on the main panel.  Subsequently, when button 1 is pressed, if another button is pressed, the status of button 1 would need to return to default state. 

I am not sure if this is possible, but for simplicity's sake, lets say there are only two buttons and two subanels.

Button 1, Button 2, Subpanel1, Subpanel2.  When Button 1 is depressed, only Subpanel1 would show.  When Button 2 is then depressed, Button 1 would become unpressed, Subpanel1 would become hidden, and Subpanel2 would become visible. 

Is there a way to accomplish this programatically? 

Thank you in advance,

Justin

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,487 Views)

Use a radio button control and customize the control to replace the radio buttons with regular buttons. It's fairly easy to do. The LabVIEW Help explains how to customize controls.

As for handling the subpanel activation, a simple event structure that handles the radio button's value change event will work quite well.

Message 2 of 6
(2,476 Views)

Hi,

I have a suggession, In one subpannel you can display any no of vi's. 

For example 3 buttons with 1 subpannel can display 3 different screen considering A,B,C as your vi's to be displayed on subpannel.

On click of Button 1,2,3 can display A,B,C vi's respectively.

Find the image to load the vi into the subpannel.

Message 3 of 6
(2,472 Views)