LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Structured Data Visualisation ??

Hello All,

I would like to apologize up front if the topic name is false or dosent match i didnt know what to give .

Now to my problem I am doing master thesis in a company in labview and my task is to make a tool that reads an Xml document and allows the user to operate on it . To display data I am using a Multi coloum list box which is functional even though a bit bulky and as I am doing my master thesis my professor and the company wants some thing more fancy I also though of using a Tree and table but its still bulky although I am keeping it as option B . 

Can any one suggest any other structutres ??

and also some reading material in this feild is very welcome .

When i search Data Visualisation in net all I see are charts and numeric data but nothing on text data or data that is in an tree form as in xml .

if i am not clear with my explanation please ask I will try to explain it better

Thanks in advance.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,528 Views)

What is the end user going to do with the data? That might drive how you want to present the data. Why are you using LabVIEW for this purpose? It seems to me that if you are presenting information that a database would have been a better way to present and store the information.

Maybe if we understand what you are hoping to do with this tool we could make better suggestions.

Tim
GHSP
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(2,470 Views)

Hi,

For a structured set of data, the tree view is probably the best way.

You can find some example in LabVIEW (Help/Find Examples... search with the keyword tree).

For a more "fancy" display, maybe the system palett can do the trick. With the system treeview control, the display will match your version of Windows.

If you prefer to customize a classic or modern tree, right-click on the control and select "Advance/Customize.." and you will be able to modify the treeview.